Downs Light Railway
Downs Light Railway | |
Gloucestershire | |
---|---|
Gauge: | 9.5" |
Built: | 1925 |
Grid reference: | SO759432 |
Location: | 52°5’14"N, 2°21’10"W |
No. of stations: | 1 |
Track: | Three-quarters of a mile |
Information | |
Owned by: | Downs Light Railway Trust |
Operated by: | The Downs school |
Website: | DLRTrust.btck.co.uk |
The Downs Light Railway is the world's oldest private miniature railway. The railway is located within the grounds of The Downs, a private school in Colwall in Herefordshire, across the Malvern Hills from Graat Malvern, Worcestershire, and is owned by the Downs Light Railway Trust.
It has a track gauge of 9½ inches.
The Downs Light Railway is one of only two railways to be operated by children, and the only one by those aged between 7 and 13 years, as an educational extra-curricular activity.
History
The railway was built and opened in 1925 under the guidance of Geoffrey Hoyland (Headmaster of The Downes) as a 7¼ inch gauge railway, for the principal purpose of education. The railway was regauged during the 1930s to the larger gauge of 9½ inches, to allow for new locomotives to be used on the line. After Geoffrey Hoyland fell ill and retired from the school, the railway deteriorated until it became unsafe to use by the late 1960s.
During the 1970s, restoration work began by former pupils of the school, most notably James Boyd. In 1983, the railway was handed over to the Downs Light Railway Trust, who became responsible for its ownership, preservation and operation.
Locomotives
- Tubby 2-6-2 Tender (Steam): Arrived in 1924. One of the first 7¼" gauge locomotives. In 1937 it was re-gauged to 9½". The locomotive remained in service up to 1989, where it retired, and was dismantled.
- Maud 2-6-0 Tender (Steam): Arrived in 1929. It was a scale model to Great Western Railway outline. Its present existence is not known, nor details of its subsequent ownership.
- Ranmore 0-4-2 Tank (Steam): Arrived in 1937 to 9½ " gauge. Sold in 1942.
- George 4-4-2 Tender (Steam): Built in 1939, bought in 1941 and remained in service up to 1986. The locomotive was sold in 1989 to the Cadbury family, but it remained as a static display in the school, until 2003. George underwent a complete rebuild and returned to the railway in 2006.
- Brock 0-4-0 Tank/Tender (Steam): Built by David Curwen in 1973 for James Boyd. The locomotive was bequeathed to the Downs Light Railway Trust in 1995.
- Tim 0-6-0 (Petrol-Hydraulic): Built by the Downs Light Railway Trust in 1984.
- James Boyd 2-6-2 Tender (Steam): Built by John Milner in 1991 for the Downs Light Railway Trust. The locomotive re-used some parts from Tubby and arrived as Tubby II. The locomotive was officially named James Boyd in 1992.
- Orion paid a visit on 24 April 2005 for its first public steaming in many years, following its disappearance, rediscovery and restoration.[1]
Outside links
References
- ↑ Hennessey, R.A.S.; Fell, Mike G. (May 2006). "Orion, Darroch and the 'Alfreds'". Backtrack. http://www.stephensonloco.org.uk/Orion%20fact%20file.pdf.
- Boyd, James (2001). Don't Stand Up in the Tunnel (75th Anniversary ed.). RailRomances.