The village's name comes from Bottisham Lode, at the end of which it grew up. The lode is one of the Cambridgeshire lodes which cross the old fenland to the River Cam. A lode is an artificial water channel used to drain the Fens, thought to be of Roman origin.
Lode also has the smaller hamlet of Long Meadow as part of the parish to the east along the B1102.
Lode is a comparatively new parish, having been separated from Bottisham in the nineteenth century. Its church has been keenly sought out as an enthusiastic evangelical church drawing a congregation from far and wide.
- Main article: Anglesey Abbey
The 1st Lord Fairhaven was responsible for the unique new gardens he created in the grounds of the estate, once a 12th-century Abbey, now a grand house.
Lode's also famous for its restored Watermill aptly named, Lode Mill, also now part of the Anglesey Abbey House and Gardens and open to the public.
In the 19th century, Anglesey Abbey was owned and occupied by Reverend Hailstone who was also vicar of Bottisham. Convinced that Lode merited its own church, he built the present church of St James, which was dedicated in 1853. The Hailstone family provided a vicar for the following 80 years.
Children initially attend Bottisham Community Primary school and usually then go on to Bottisham Village College. After this they can go on to one of the many Further Education Sixth form colleges, located in the nearby local City of Cambridge.
| ("Wikimedia Commons" has material|