Ballydehob

From Wikishire
Jump to: navigation, search
Ballydehob
Irish: Béal an Dá Chab
County Cork
Ballydehob, Main Street - geograph.org.uk - 747988.jpg
Main Street, Ballydehob
Location
Location: 51°33’-0"N, 9°28’0"W
Data
Population: 810  (2006)
Local Government

Ballydehob is a coastal village in the south-west of County Cork, on the N71 national secondary road. Its name is from the Irish language; Béal an Dá Chab meaning "Mouth of the two river fords".

History

Ballydehob is a small place but with a history which is a microcosm of that of Ireland, and legends and folklore abound to supplement it.

In the Bronze Age (2200-600 BC), copper was mined on Mount Gabriel, just west of the village. About the same time stone circles, wedge and boulder tombs were constructed in the area.

The dominant Gaelic clans in this region were the McCarthys and O'Mahonys: a string of castles along the coastline bears testament to their struggles and to the strategic importance of this area. Kilcoe Castle was the McCarthy's most westerly stronghold and their only coastal foothold; it is probably West Cork's best preserved castle (which has in recent years been extensively restored by the actor Jeremy Irons).

In 1602 soldiers led by Sir George Carew, Lord President of Munster, descended on the area in a successful bid to break the power of the Gaelic chieftains. Their passage through West Cork was described in "Pacata Hibernia" by Thomas Stafford, told from the pacifiers' point of view, but interestingly, and probably uniquely for the time, a contemporary Irish account can also be found in Historicae Catolicae Iberniae Compenium by Don Philip O'Sullivan.

The 17th century saw an influx of settlers mainly from England, but a significant number were Protestant Huguenots fleeing persecution in France. The Swantons from Norfolk emerged as the most prominent family in the locality, and by the late 18th century they had succeeded in changing the name of Ballydehob to Swanton's Town. The last known use of the name Swanton's Town was in the census of 1821.

In the 1820s, copper mining developed again in the region. The Cappagh mine, the most productive of several, was financed by Lord Audley; its 60-foot chimney survived until February 2002, when it was destroyed by a lightning strike. As a result of the growth of the mines, the Royal Irish Constabulary established a barracks here (6 years before the Metropolitan Police were raised in London). By the 1840s the population of the area had swelled to nearly 20,000.

The Great Irish Famine struck in 1841 and hit County Cork particularly hard. Between 1841 and 1851 the population of the area fell by 42%, a decline much higher than the Irish average. At present Ballydehob has a resident population of about 300.

In the 1880s amid growing agitation over land reform, the Ballydehob branch of the Irish National Land League hosted a visit by Anna Parnell, sister of Charles Stewart Parnell, to address a public meeting on the subject; this was held in the field where St Brigit's school now stands, and is commemorated by a plaque.

In the 1960s Ballydehob saw an influx of artists, writers and craftspeople, attracted by the village's peaceful coastal setting. Also for a brief period a number of "Hippy" communes were established in the area. One house was decorated with painted flowers, becoming well known as the "Flower House".

Balydehob today

In common with the rest of West Cork, Ballydehob is a popular holiday venue, and the area contains a number of guest-houses, as well as private holiday homes. The traditional village shops have largely been replaced by a range of eating-places.

Near Ballydehob at Cooragurteen there is a Chapel of the Antiochan Orthodox Church, where Saturday evening vespers and Sunday morning readings are regularly held. Divine Liturgy is also celebrated at the Chapel at various times throughout the year. This chapel is reputed to be the most westerly Othodox chapel in Western Europe.

Festivals

Ballydehob also enjoys four annual festivals, each of which attracts visitors both from both the locale and further abroad.

Ballydehob Traditional Music Weekend is the annual traditional music, song, and dance festival, and took place between March 30 - April 1, 2012.

The Ballydehob Jazz Festival is a growing annual event that attracts artists and jazz fans from around the world, and is scheduled to take place between May 4 and May 7, 2012.

Ballydehob Summer Festival is in its 22nd year and provides fun and entertainment for all the family. Over recent years it has also included the Ballydehob Traditional Boat Gathering bringing a new dynamic to what is already an exciting schedule of events. The summer festival is usually hosted around the second week in August.

Ballydehob Old Time Threshing & Vintage Weekend - celebrates the historic traditions of rural Ireland and West Cork in particular. The vintage weekend generally takes place in October.

Railway

12 Arch Bridge

On 6 September 1886 Ballydehob railway station opened[1] on the narrow gauge Schull and Skibbereen Railway with a huge sports event held in Ballydehob to mark the occasion. At the time there was a 15 mph speed limit on the railway. The magnificent 12 arch bridge, which dominates the estuary of Ballydehob, was the major engineering achievement of the line. Mounting losses, coal shortages and the arrival of buses and motor cars eventually brought the closure of the line. The final train ran on 27 January 1947 and the station finally closed altogether on 1 June 1953.[1] Ballydehob was the main intermediate station on the railway.

Outside links

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Ballydehob Station – Railscot: Irish Railways