St Cynog's Church
It lies at the foot of the Milltir Cerrig] mountain pass on the B4391 road, which runs between Llan Ffestiniog and Llanfyllin (though the B4391 road number 'disappears' between the western end of Llyn Celyn and Bala).
It is surrounded by mountains and is a popular base for walkers. It boasts two pubs and a free car park with free toilet facilities as well as numerous holiday cottages and chalets for let. It has limited service from all mobile telephone services but has a public telephone box although this is known to be temperamental and is consistently out of order. A telephone service is readily available for free from both local pubs.
It was the western terminus of the 15-mile Tanat Valley Light Railway (Llynclys-Llangynog): opened January 5, 1904; closed to passenger traffic 1951.
It is close to the pilgrimage shrine of Saint Melangel at the church of Pennant Melangell. Lake Vyrnwy is a short drive. Bala Lake, Powis Castle in Welshpool and Oswestry take around half an hour to visit by car. Wrexham, Chester, Newown and Shrewsbury are all under an hour away. The seaside town of Barmouth is also within easy reach in a car.
Llangynog has a down-hill mountain bike course, and a crown green bowling club, who play in the Oswestry League.