|Built c. 1290-1310|
Location and access
Ballymoon Castle is found about two miles east of Bagenalstown in a field next to the Fennagh road. The site is accessible to the public, with access via a small wooden bridge over a ditch. Visitors can access the castle walls at ground level.
The ruin is a National Monument.
The castle is in ruins and consists of a square courtyard about 80 feet on each side, with 20-foot high granite walls that are about 8 feet wide at the base. The inside of the castle is open, but the walls show where the doors and fireplaces were positioned. The large double fireplace on the north side was part of the great hall. There are no traces of the interior structure of the castle apart from the foundations, and this has led to speculation that the castle was never completed. The wall on the western side has an arched gateway. Portcullis grooves can be seen on the gateway, and there may have been a barbican in front. A number of cross shaped gun loops and arrow slits can be seen in the castle walls.
Ballymoon Castle is thought to have been built in the 13th century or early 14th century. Much of the history has been lost, but it is thought to have been built by the Bigod family, or by the Carew family, who acquired the land from the Bigods.
In the late 1800s, the castle was bought by Michael Sheill from Wexford who established a number of local businesses.
| ("Wikimedia Commons" has material|
about Ballymoon Castle)
- Ballymoon Castle, County Carlow: IrelandsEye.com
- "Ballymoon Castle". Historic Ireland. http://www.historic-ireland.com/places/325.html. Retrieved 2007-12-10.
- Findwyer (August 5, 2014). "Ballymoon Castle – This didn’t end well". http://irishhistorypodcast.ie/ballymoon-castle-this-didnt-end-well/.